Friedman named Legislator of the Year and receives honorable Mitch Snyder Award

BOSTON – Senator Cindy F. Friedman (D-Arlington) was recently named Legislator of the Year by the Massachusetts Psychological Association (MPA) for her work on behalf of those with mental illness, substance use disorder and behavioral health issues. In addition, Friedman was presented with the 2018 Mitch Snyder Award from the First Church Shelter of Cambridge for her efforts on the comprehensive opioid treatment bill that was signed into law this summer.

The MPA’s Legislator of the Year Award is given to a legislator each year in recognition of their outstanding efforts on behalf of psychology, mental health and public welfare. Past recipients include Congressman Joseph Kennedy III (MA-4), former Senate President Therese Murray (D-Plymouth), and Senator Joan Lovely (D-Salem).

“As we continue to address the opioid crisis in Massachusetts, it is imperative that we strive each day to ensure that every individual who is in need of mental health and substance use care has access to effective treatment and a real path to recovery,” said Senator Friedman, co-chair of the Joint Committee on Mental Health Substance Use, and Recovery. “Moving forward, I am wholeheartedly committed to doing everything I can to help save more lives and improve our system of care for all. Thank you to the Mass. Psychological Association and First Church for recognizing my work and for striving each and every day to better the lives of those most vulnerable in our Commonwealth.”

Friedman was also presented with the 2018 Mitch Snyder Award for her leadership in helping to craft the most recent comprehensive opioid treatment bill.

The Mitch Snyder Award recognizes and commends individuals and organizations that emulate the selfless example of the late Mitch Snyder, a nationally known advocate for people dealing with homelessness and poverty. Beginning in Washington DC and then on a national level, Snyder and the DC-based Community for Creative Non Violence drew men and women together to demand increased and sustained public action to address homelessness in the United States.

Past recipients have included Senator Will Brownsberger (D-Belmont), the AIDS Action Needle Exchange program, Fran Froehlich of the Poor People’s United Fund, and Sarah Mackin of the Boston Public Health Commission.

Friedman represents the 4th Middlesex district, which includes Arlington, Billerica, Burlington, Woburn and precincts 1-2 and 4-7 in Lexington. For more information, visit